# Ring announces the Smart Lock with a hand-powered backup dial

> Announced October 7, the lock uses Amazon Sidewalk for remote functions. A U.S. launch is planned for early 2027 in black, silver and brass. The lock still needs FCC authorization.

- Canonical page: https://smarthomecanon.com/news/ring-announces-smart-lock-with-hand-powered-backup
- Last checked: 2026-10-18

## Key facts

| Fact | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Published | 2026-10-07 |
| Updated | 2026-10-18 |
| Author | Smart Home Canon |
| Tags | ring, amazon, smart-lock, sidewalk |

## What was announced

- Amazon announced the Ring Smart Lock on October 7, 2026. It fits a standard single-cylinder deadbolt and needs no additional wiring.[^1]
- A built-in power dial supplies backup power. Turning it by hand a few times powers the lock back up. Amazon does not state the battery type, runtime or charge time.[^1]

## Connectivity

- The lock uses Amazon Sidewalk for remote locking, status updates and PIN syncing. It does not rely on home Wi-Fi for those functions. Unlocking happens on the device.[^1]
- It works with Ring doorbells, cameras and alarms, and with Echo and Alexa voice control. The Ring app handles remote control, scheduled access and the activity feed.[^1]
- Amazon states no Matter or Z-Wave support.[^1]

## Availability

- The lock is planned for U.S. purchase in early 2027 in black, silver and brass. Amazon does not state a price.[^1]
- An FCC disclosure says the lock is not yet authorized and cannot be sold until it is.[^1]

## Sources

[^1]: Ring ends smart lock anxiety with a lock you can recharge by hand (Amazon, 7 Oct 2026). https://www.aboutamazon.com/news/devices/ring-smart-lock-battery-recharge (press, checked 2026-10-18)

